Picture
It is time for 10 weeks of Christmas post #7! That means that it is only 4 weeks until Christmas! I always vow that I will start my Christmas shopping in July and be done by October, but here I am again. Four weeks to go and barely anything hid in my closet...Again! 
Maybe I'm putting the cart before the horse, but I've already got some great ideas on how to wrap up my presents this year.  For those that know me, I am very much about Reduce, Reuse, Recycle. And perhaps even more so around this time of the year, so here are my  ideas for getting things all wrapped up all while saving the environment. 

Picture
For those of you who have received a Stampin Up delivery you will know that the ites come with your very own free wrapping paper! Well, it's actually plain brown shipping paper so that your precious items don't shift too much and get banged around.  BUT, with a few stamps and some tulle, you can make your own beautiful wrapping paper.  For this pretty package I straightened out some of the shipping paper on my desk and then stamped all over using the Daydream Medallions stamp set with Real Red, Soft Suede, and Chocolate Chip inks. Then I wrapped it around the box and topped it off with a double bow using Cherry Cobbler Scalloped Tulle Ribbon.  The tag I attached is using the Delightful Decorations set.  I would be thrilled to receive a package like this under the tree. Wouldn't you?    

Picture
For those who prefer to stick things in a bag with some tissue paper how about making your own using paper lunch bags.  I cut off the serrated top and added Organza Ribbon for handles.  To decorate the front I cut a window sheet and stamped it with the Mixed Bunch stamp set in Staz-On white ink.  I added a little bit of designer paper on the left. On the right I cut glimmer paper into a snowflake using the Snow Flurry Big Shot Die and added a Vintage Faceted Designer Button and the simple tag.  What a cute way to wrap a little gift for a teacher or a coach or a colleague.  And these are definitely re-usable.  

Picture
Here is my bag that I will be re-using again and again through the years.  It uses one piece of the Candy Cane Christmas Designer Fabric.  The bag is made using one fat quarter folded in half, so it ends up being approximately 17" tall and 14" wide.  But, if you wanted you could cut the fabric in half and make 2 small drawstring bags for little gifts.  For the drawstring I used the Organza Ribbon again.  Remember that the fabric comes with three pices of designer fabric, so I ended up making 6 of them. And I finished them all in an hour! If you are interested in mmy pattern, just email me and I will be happy to send you my instructions.  These great fabric drawstring bags will make wrapping up things super quick this year and for the next several years too. I will probably even use them for birthday presents, since the pattern isn't exclusively Christmasy. 

To help you get your Christmas all wrapped up, you can win some BLOG CANDY from me.  Post a comment and I will choose one person to win a package of the Candy Cane Christmas Designer Fabric FREE!! 

Shelley
11/27/2012 05:31:20 am

Amanda, I love how creative you are :) I am going to steal the gift wrapping idea!

Reply
Stampin Up with Amanda
12/12/2012 03:14:07 pm

Gee, thanks Shelley! Absolutely steal away!

Reply
holly
11/27/2012 11:37:56 am

Amanda, beautiful blog and information. Thanks. I love the gift wrapping idea, and would love the pattern for the drawstring bag...hopefully it is great for a semi non sewer....you have great ideas...and my closet is empty as well, so yes, i will be wrapping later and the bags will come in super handy.

Reply
Stampin Up with Amanda
12/12/2012 03:15:32 pm

Thanks for your kind words Holly. I will get the pattern to you. Yes, it is fine for a semi-non-sewer, just straight line sewing.

Reply



Leave a Reply.